Baked Chili Pie

So, what happened was…

I had this whole month planned out for our dinners every night. I was prepared and organized. And maybe a little over-confident? 🙂 Most of my recipes for the crock pot say to cook on low 6-8 hours. So on Wednesday I didn’t even look at the recipe for my BBQ Pulled Pork until after the meat was thawed and it was time to start cooking.

Uh oh. This recipe says to cook on low 10 hours, and there’s only 7 hours until dinner. Haha.

So I improvised. I saw a recipe like this online one day and thought, “Ooh. That sounds quick & easy.” And then I tried to go back and find it again, but I never could. I don’t know exactly what the original recipe called for, but this was a passable meal-in-a-hurry.

2 boxes of cornbread mix, with oil, eggs, etc added*

2 cans chili

2 c shredded cheese (I like Colby Jack, but Cheddar would work too)

*I found this recipe for a similar-to-Jiffy mix, and I love it. Remember, you need 2 batches though. I’ll be nice and do the math for you 😉

2/3 Cup Flour                                                                       1 1/3 c flour
1/2 Cup Yellow Cornmeal                                               1 c cornmeal
3 Tablespoons Sugar                                                         6 T sugar
1 Tablespoon Baking Powder                                         2 T baking powder
1/4 teaspoon Salt                                                               1/2 t salt

Add: 1 egg, 2/3 c milk, 2 T vegetable oil                  2 eggs, 1 1/3 c milk, 4 T vegetable oil

Pour prepared cornbread mix in the bottom of a greased 9×13 baking dish.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Top with both cans of chili.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Sprinkle shredded cheese on top.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

And bake according to the cornbread directions plus 5 minutes. (If you used the above recipe for your cornbread, cook a total of 20-25 minutes at 400F.)

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Love it? Repin it here!

Leave a Reply

