Enchilada Soup

Not sure how long this particular recipe will stick around at my house. It was delicious, but a little more processed than Iwould like. I made it in a hurry, so no pics this time, but I’ve included a pic (so it is pinnable) and link to Paula Dean’s recipe, which was the opriginal inspiration for this soup. The first time I made it, my entire family agreed it was much too spicy, so this is my modified version.

Enchilada Soup

Paula's Enchilada Soup

 

  • 2.5 lbs hamburger meat
  • 2-3 T taco seasoning (or 2 packets if you’re using store-bought)
  • 1 onion
  • 28 oz can tomato sauce (I think I’ll actually use 2 next time to stretch it out & have more leftovers)
  • 1/2 of a 28 oz can enchilada sauce (I stuck the rest in the fridge. You could just use a 10 or 15 oz can if you had one)
  • 1 can chili beans WITH SAUCE
  • 1 can great Northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can corn, drained (I actually just pour some frozen corn in there)
  • 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 T ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups shredded cheese

Brown hamburger meat together with onion and taco seasoning; drain. Add all ingredients except cheese into Crockpot and cook on low for 6 hours. Top each bowl with cheese. Would be great served with warm homemade bread or tortillas. Super easy and tasted great, but I don’t like using all the canned items. Maybe I can make it a little more “homemade” by cooking the beans myself. Maybe 🙂

Leave a comment